Tap, Tap, Tap

Why am I here? Tap, tap, tap…No, no, you don’t have to answer that…It’s not an existentialist question…Tap, tap, tap…Where the hell did my idea go? A few moments ago I had a light bulb moment but now that light bulb seems to have vanished…Totally gone…Woosh!!!

Hmm?? What was it? Oh, yes! it’s come back…I knew it would!!! I’m not that old as yet…I wanted to tell you about my obsession with ‘Law & Order’ reruns…You know that American police and legal drama on NBC that went on for years and years?

I think I am (at least, I hope I am) a relatively intelligent woman with a full life but for some godforsaken reason I can watch reruns of this show a million times without getting bored and best of all, I can even watch the same episode twice in one day…I think I must have watched a few espisodes 20 times if not more and the funny part is, I can watch them again…How did Dick Wolf succeed when others have failed? What is your secret, Mr.Wolf? Please tell me!!! I don’t know why I do what I do but you know why you do what you do…Makes sense?

I don’t care who the actors are (although I must admit Sam Waterston is my favourite) or the characters are, I just love the show – the reruns though – never was truly into watching new episodes…Weird, uh?

Years ago, my husband had forwarded me an article on Slate which talked about exactly this – women’s obsession with reruns of Law & Order…Not the spin-offs mind you but the original one…So, you see, I’m not the only weird one – there are millions like me…Dick Wolf is making a hell of a lot of money from obsessed women like me…No matter which part of the world I am in, there will be at least one channel if not more showing reruns of Law & Order…

God, sociologists, whomever…Please, please study this mysterious phenomenon and let me know why I do what I do…Please put my husband out of his misery and help him get back to cricket…

 

3 thoughts on “Tap, Tap, Tap

Leave a Reply

