Of Chatting And Swaveboarding

Ever since I saw the Swaveboard (Waveboard to some), I’ve been wanting to learn…It seems interesting and fun and since five year olds whiz around on them I figured I could too…So yesterday, this Pakistani lady R I’ve befriended decided to teach me – I agreed to become her student because she’s an expert (she’d been practicing for two whole days) and my mother always told me to learn from experts…We were in the play area of our condo and she asked her son to lend us his swaveboard…She gave him her dupatta and proceeded to show me how to go about swaveboarding…Suddenly a kid of about six came up to her and said, “Hello Aunty, that is not how to do it…You should..” and before he could finish his sentence R interrupted him and said in Singlish,”Hey, you Muslim la? Then why did you greet me in English way…Don’t you know how to greet other Muslims la?” On hearing this the poor kid ran away…I couldn’t understand her logic – are Muslims supposed to greet other Muslims only in the Muslim way? Does it say so in the Quran? If a Muslim says ‘adaab’ to a Hindu, will he go to hell? Can a Hindu say “adaab”? Frankly, when another Hindu or Bengali greets me by saying “hi” or “hello”, I don’t give it a second thought – why does she?

Don’t get me wrong…I like R…She’s not only entertaining but has a lot of spunk…Earlier she had told me that she used to wear the hijab till two years ago when she revolted and told her husband that it was too hot for it…Needless to say he was was pissed but she told him, “Why you worried about what Allah will think? If Allah is angry, he’ll be angry with me la and not you…You will still go to heaven so don’t talk about this any more.” Amen…

The entire time she was on the swaveboard without her dupatta and her kurta flying over her head, all I could think was what her husband would say if he saw her…

For people who don’t know what a Swave/Wave Board is:
wave
The Wave or Swave Board gives you the feeling of surfing and snowboarding at the same time but on the street…Unlike a skateboard, it is not rigid (it has two wheels that move independently of each other…A side-to-side slalom-motion propels the rider forward)ย and allows you to move without your feet touching the ground…For more information, search Google…

14 thoughts on “Of Chatting And Swaveboarding

  1. Learnt something new today!

    Bones, if I greet you saying Hare Krishna, or Ram Ram or Jai Mata Ki, you will turn your nose away, think I am an uncultured desi and a Hindu fanatic who is not “modern”. Shahrukh Khan, the secular icon of non-Muslim Indians and a virtual non-Muslim as far as Muslims are concerned, always says, “Allah”, Insha Allah” etc, but no one finds it non-secular!

    Can someone throw some light on why this is so?

    Like

  2. The swaveboard lookes really interesting, Sraboney. Let us know if you master the art of riding it!

    As to your question- takes all kinds to make this world! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Master the art of riding it – ha! ha! I hope I don’t break a bone or two before I learn to stand up straight!

    Like

  3. Bones, let us have a picture of you swave boarding. You cool gal! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am very bad with balance. I learned skiing after so many falls. In my support I would say that I chose very high slope to start with.

    As for greeting each other following a religious order or in their language, I have heard it often. In North India people greet each other with a ‘Namaste’ or in Kerala its ‘Namaskaram’ or some people even say ‘Jai Krishna’.

    It is indivual choice. I wouldn’t mind anything because my reply is always going to be Hello! but questioning and preaching someone is unnecessary.

    My cool quotient has gone up since yesterday – my daughter is very proud of me! I’ve told my friend R that I’ll come up and practice with her in the corridor first so that if I fall, I won’t be embarrassed…

    Like

  4. How cool are you ? ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ VERY I have to say ๐Ÿ˜€
    Impressed!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    never even knew about swaveboards!

    About the lady? Well she seems independent enough in some matters but perhaps doesnt realise that she is doing exactly what she dislikes ….she dislikes when someone treads on her space and yet she has no qualms about treading on another’s…

    we are human I suppose.

    PS:- what does ‘la’ mean?

    Like

  5. More than Swaveboard,I think it is also about a mind set.Muslims greetings in a particular way is acceptable but the moment we the Hindus say a word we get branded as communal.It is sickening

    Like

  6. Wow! Sounds like a lot of fun!!! I agree with the commenters above, you must put up a photograph of you swaveboarding ๐Ÿ™‚

    And as far as greetings are concerned, to each their own… but demanding that someone greet in a particular way is not right, specially when you were also there. People do that though. Once someone I hardly know said, “What is this hi hi, why not Ram Ram!” ๐Ÿ˜†

    Like

  7. Cool bones and interesting too. .. ๐Ÿ™‚ great that you are learning it… it must be fun ๐Ÿ™‚
    and for that incident… it’s everybody’s right to decide on how they are going to wish… and she shouldn’t have said that…

    Like

  8. Very cool, Bones! I see kids zooming on these the whole time here! They do it so well! I wish I had the guts to try it out ๐Ÿ™‚

    As for that lady.. don’t know what to say.. I am surprised that people give so much thought to it, that she thought it necessary to correct him! Poor kid, he must have been stunned.

    Like

  9. Hey! That is so cool. I would never dare for the fear of falling. You go!

    About R, I have met so many of that kind, why don’t you speak in Bengali/Gujarati/Marathi etc etc to the kids. It is supposed to be a way of preserving the ‘culture’. There is always ruing about how the new generation is getting all westernised, and not keeping up the cultural values. How one should speak and interact primarily in the mother tongue and things of that kind. To each his own, what else can i say.

    Like

  10. cooooooool!!! :):) I have been wanting to skateboard for the longest time now. BUt have been terribly scared of embarrassing myself in public :):) Is this very different from the regular skate board?
    Yes, it is different because unlike a skateboard the wheels move…
    About R, I`m not surprised. We know some guys here who insist we join the bengali community and talk only in bangla when we meet other bengalis. What`s the logic, I wonder..
    I know the kind of people you mean…We always stay away from them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

