Somali Extremists Claim They Have A Right To Inspect Breasts Under Sharia

Reality has moved beyond satire…The truth these days is stranger than fiction…I just came across this bizarre article in the Daily Mail:

A hardline Islamist group in Somalia has begun publicly whipping women for wearing bras that they claim violate Islam as they are ‘deceptive’.

The insurgent group Al Shabaab has sent gunmen into the streets of Mogadishu to round up any women who appear to have a firm bust, residents claimed yesterday.

The women are then inspected to see if the firmness is natural, or if it is the result of wearing a bra.

If they are found wearing a bra, they are ordered to remove it and shake their breasts, residents said.

‘Al Shabaab forced us to wear their type of full veil and now they order us to shake our breasts,’ a resident, Halima, told Reuters, adding that her daughters had been whipped on Thursday.

‘They  are now saying that breasts should be firm naturally, or just flat.’

I’ll bet Al-Shabaab has a lot of pious young men with long flowing beards applying for these inspector jobs…

I haven’t read the Quran, but I’m quite sure there’s no verse in it that proclaims it is  forbidden for women to wear brassieres or pants or skirts since these items of clothing didn’t exist when the Prophet lived…It’s just amazing how some people use religion to justify their own depravity…Lord have mercy on the Somali people!

(the same story was reported by Reuters , so I guess there’s some truth to it)

Edited to Add:

More ridiculousness from Al Shabab…They also flog women for not wearing socks…Instead of coming up with such absurd excuses, won’t it be easier for them to say we’ll whip women whenever we like just because they are women?

34 thoughts on “Somali Extremists Claim They Have A Right To Inspect Breasts Under Sharia

  1. I wonder why no one has yet issued a fatwa banning AK 47s and motorised vehicles? Shouldn’t jihadis be using swords and riding horses/camels?!

    Me: Well said…Bras are Western and therefore un-Islamic, but AK 47s though Western are not…What hypocrisy, what craziness!

    Like

  2. Al shabaab? Wow, aptly named too. Ridiculous jokers!

    Me: The name may be funny but it is an al-Qaida-linked group that has been leading a bloody insurgency against Somalia’s U.N.-backed government for more than two years…The group is a U.S. designated terrorist organization…

    Like

  3. These men should be horsewhipped!Till they cant stand up again! B***** B*****!!!!!
    cant think of more words right now!
    WTH??

    Me: It’s sad, but men will be men and will continue subjugating women…

    Like

  4. I have no words on how I feel..Thanks for the news,tells me how disgusting and degrading religion can end upto.. It makes me feel good that all bad things about Islam are coming out,even from the most remote places of earth,so that muslims can have self introspection and correct their mistakes..

    Me: It’s not just Muslims who use religion to justify their actions…Others do too…

    Like

  5. “I’ll bet Al-Shabaab has a lot of pious young men with long flowing beards applying for these inspector jobs…”

    Reminds me of Margaret Atwood’s, ‘A Handmaid’s Tale’.

    Me: I haven’t read it…What is it about?

    Like

    • I will get you a link, this is one of the ten books I think every woman must read. It’s fiction and gets very scary – because it is easy to see that it can come true and is in some ways true for many women…

      Like

  6. I am sure there may be thousands of young men applying for that job.

    This would be so hilarious and ridiculous if it were not so serious. One had also heard of an equally insane Egyptian mullah proclaiming some nonsense sometime back. Some Indian mullah had proclaimed that getting yourself photographed was unislamic.

    I wonder how these guys interpret the Koran or Sharia. Is it just a mentally imbalanced guy rambling and then the system ensures compliance with a heavy handed approach…..

    Well!…….

    Like

  7. I am not disputing the news story but will always view negative reports about non Western societies in Western newspapers and news agencies with a large pinch of salt.

    Me: Why is the West always wrong? I mean, yes, all societies view others through their own lenses, but that doesn’t mean everything they observe is wrong…Beating up women may be accepted in some societies but that doesn’t make it right just because the West views it as wrong…

    Like

    • Bones, Western european and US news sources are and were notorious for distorting news abt those they do not like, as it happened and is happening with Gadhafi, Idi Amin,Castro, China etc .So be vary of their schemes as they will go to any extend to paint their enemies black. For the record I do not support Islamists and their anti woman policies and many of the values I cherish in this modern day World has come from the West.

      Like

  8. @Sraboneyghose

    I differ with you here on one point.

    Why are you (I am addressing only you because you can answer for only your self) calling them “Hardcore Islamist” group ??

    If they are following Islam, they would not be doing this i guess.

    Prophet must be crying or I should say bleeding tear to see that how these goons have used the His-Holiness.

    Me: I didn’t call them hard core Islamists – that entire bit was quoted from the article in the Daily Mail…

    Like

    • So according to you they are not “Hardcore Islamist”?

      By the way ….Its your blog and when you publish some thing it implies that you are having consent with the terminologies unless and until specified other wise. right?

      Me: Why don’t you get it? I just quoted from the article and since I was quoting, I couldn’t change the language or leave out those two words…If you read the rest of the post, you’ll see that I’ve written people use religion to further their own depravity…And so what if I think they are hardcore Islamists, nothing wrong with that…You are just picking a fight…If you don’t like my views, please don’t read my blog…

      Like

      • First of all I was not picking any fight.

        If you discuss some thing with some one, DO you call it a fight?

        2. My point was valid. “Hardcore Islamist” this term is misinterpreted by majority, as Islam it self.

        3. I wont bother you again. I am sorry, I liked your blog and commented here.

        Keep smiling! Take care!

        Me: I agree Islam is misinterpreted by most including Muslims for personal gain…What do you call conservative Muslims who interpret the Koran literally? Christians, Hindus etc. can also be hardcore…

        Like

    • How does it matter if they are called Islamic Extremists? In the end they are justifying themselves in the name of religion…
      Secondly, the actual reason as to why they are so called (or Maoists for that matter) is because there is a Politico-Military reason behind it. By calling them Islamic Extremists the government has categorized them on basis of ideology so that when WHAM (winning hearts and minds ) operation starts with the local population, the government authorities know as to how they should tread.
      So, if the Maoists are so called, it does not mean that Mao propagated the violence which they use, it only means that they are using some bits of Mao’s ideology and they will be countered by the SF using a counter ideology.
      Hopefully I have made my point clear.
      Adios.

      Like

  9. That is so atrocious! I cannot imagine who could think this up!

    Yes, the inspector’s job must be in very high demand indeed!!

    ‘…Instead of coming up with such absurd excuses, won’t it be easier for them to say we’ll whip women whenever we like just for being women?’ – Absolutely! That’s all there is to it! And an opportunity for sadistic pleasure for the men! It’s disgusting!

    Like

  10. My God! I wonder what they`ll think of next!
    What a disgusting bunch of imbeciles they are! Sometimes I feel Somalia is a lost cause really…yet another brick in the wall that America has been known to build.

    Like

  11. Pingback: Bikini vs Burka: The Debauchery of Women « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

